Well Here We Go!

Growing up a ‘city girl’ I never would have imagined that some day I’d fall in love with a farmer and with farm life. My farmer and I have been married for 25 years and have two children, a son and a daughter. We live on the family farm located between Newton and Kellogg, Iowa.  The farm has been in the family since 1927 and my farmer’s parents are still involved in the operation today. We grow corn and soybeans and our children grow sweet corn.  We also purchase Holstein bull calves at birth and feed them to market weight and feed hogs on contract.

Until just a few years ago, I taught school at the local Christian School, and before that I was the County 4-H Coordinator. I thoroughly enjoy agricultural education and spend a great deal of time promoting agriculture both in the classroom and hosting farm tours for hundreds of students each year.

I joined the CommonGround™ Iowa program as a volunteer in 2013. My hobbies include baking, reading, tending to my flower gardens, and having lunch with friends.

So… here we go. We’ll give this blogging thing a try. Don’t hesitate to send me a message if you have any questions!

Julie

Leave a Reply

