National Pi Day

National Pi Day was celebrated yesterday, March 14 (3-14).

“Pi (Greek letter “π”) is the symbol used in mathematics to represent a constant — the ratio of the circumference of a circle to its diameter — which is approximately 3.14159. Because pi is the same for every circle, we can use it to determine the diameter if we know the circumference, or vice versa.  When we know the diameter, it’s easy to calculate the area.”

I was first introduced to this day when I taught jr. high math.  Any lesson that could be taught using food as a visual is always a winner in jr. high.  When we learned about finding the area of a circle we would talk about pi which could easily tie in with eating  pie.  We would take a class vote to determine the top three pies and Grandma B. would bake them. (The teachers always enjoyed the leftovers.)

Pie and Cookbook

Pies have always been a favorite dessert on the farm.  Personally I like making pies. (According to my farmer I don’t make them enough.)  The first pie contest I entered was in junior high when my bank sponsored a cherry pie contest in February and I won a hand mixer for myself and a blender for my school.  My sister and I did a 4-H presentation on pie crusts for the county fair called Crusty.  A few years ago Emily and cousin Heather presented Picture Perfect Pies for their 4-H presentation at the state fair.  Both grandmas gave the girls great lessons on pie baking.pies

Basic Pie Crust                

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 6 -7 Tbsp. water

Combine flour and salt. Cut shortening (using pastry blender). Add water.  Stir into a ball.  Divide in half.  Roll our.  Place bottom shell in pan, add filling, then add top pastry.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 – 30 minutes.

Speaking of pies, I was excited to see the Coffee Cup Café feature on the Iowa Food and Family Project’s home page: www.iowafoodandfamily.com  (Robin is Kevin’s cousin.  What a neat surprise!)  My favorite pie at the Coffee Cup is Snickers Cream.  Um! 🙂  Enjoy a piece of pie while looking at the many exciting things going on with the Iowa Food and Family Project – ” a movement that’s connecting farming, food and families – one that’s bringing everyone together to celebrate what makes Iowa a great place to live and work and how farming and food is central to the quality of life we enjoy!”

Since I’ve been talking pi(math) and pie (food), I could not pass up the opportunity to share one final example today.PI DAY

Take Care! Eat a piece of pie!

Julie

2 thoughts on “National Pi Day

Leave a Reply

