Celebrate National Apple Month with Apple Dip

Today we began and ended the day eating apples; so we are truly celebrating National Apple Month.  This morning I made a quick apple dip and tonight for dessert we had Apple Dumplings compliments of Grandma B.

apple-dip-two

apple-dip-containers

EASY APPLE DIP

1 8 oz. cream cheese, softened*

¾ c. brown sugar

¼ c. white sugar

1 Tbsp. vanilla

Mix all ingredients together.

*I have used both the spreadable and brick cream cheese.  The spreadable is easier to mix, but is a little thinner.  I prefer the consistency of the brick, but you need to get the mixer dirty.  The taste is the same.

Last week the spreadable was on sale, so I thought I would give it a try.  (My guys really didn’t care about the difference in consistency.)

We (6 people) had this dip for coffee time this a.m.   This is what I had left.  I put it in little containers so they will be easy to grab and go!

apple-a-day

The US Apple  website has some great resources on apple production; including the top ten states that produce apples, the top ten varieties of apples, and numerous resources to use in the classroom.

*********************************************************

Livestock chores need to be done everyday before we go to the field. One of my jobs is to open gates when it is time to give corn stalk bales to the steers.  I have learned from experience that when the farmer says he needs a gate opener now…he means NOW!  The consequence of being a little slow is chasing cattle.  The other morning I was upstairs and wanted to switch laundry.  By the time I got out the door, I was greeted by a couple of black and white faces!  The farmer did not wait for his gate opener/gate watcher!!

steers-hoop

Happy apple eating!

Julie

Leave a Reply

